Home Events Putting America to Work; Records of the WPA and the CCC

Date

Sep 16 2020

Time

8:00 pm

Putting America to Work; Records of the WPA and the CCC

Wednesday, September 16 6:00 PM – Pacific, 7:00 PM – Mountain, 8:00 PM – Central, 9:00 PM – Eastern
Putting America to Work; Records of the WPA and the CCC
by Peggy Lauritzen, AG®, FOGS

The Works Progress Administration (WPA) was founded as part of President Roosevelt’s New Deal. Providing jobs for over 8.5 million people, they were instrumental in compiling many records that are valuable to genealogists today. Many of the indexes and records we use today were compiled by the WPA; those unemployed professionals who were ‘put to work’ in the days following the Great Depression.

Peggy Clemens Lauritzen, AG®, FOGS, has become a favorite speaker at conferences and webinars. She serves as a Family History Center director and is an instructor and author at Legacy Family Tree Webinars, Ancestry Academy, Family Tree University, and a columnist for Reminisce Magazine. She received the 2018 Laura G. Prescott Award for Exemplary Service to Professional Genealogy.

Putting America to Work; Records of the WPA and the CCC
  • 00

    days

  • 00

    hours

  • 00

    minutes

  • 00

    seconds

Leave a Reply