Home Events Researching California Mission Indians Using a Case Study

Date

Oct 21 2020

Time

8:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Researching California Mission Indians Using a Case Study

Wednesday, October 21 6:00 PM – Pacific, 7:00 PM – Mountain, 8:00 PM – Central, 9:00 PM – Eastern
Researching California Mission Indians Using a Case Study
by Jean Wilcox Hibben, PhD.

Using genealogy methodology (with on-line and brick and mortar repositories) the mystery of a Mission Indian is solved through use of some unique sources. This lecture moves backwards from a death certificate to uncover someone who kept his tribal connections and name private. Mission Indian research is unique; information given here may be a gift to someone with that background.

Retired college professor and former Board-Certified genealogist, Jean Wilcox Hibben has a Master’s in speech communication and a PhD in folklore. A national speaker and writer, Jean is the staff trainer for the Corona Family History Center and President of both the Corona Gen Soc and the So Calif Chapter of APG. Jean’s podcasts on social history are available at genjourneys.podbean.com. She has been a Jamboree presenter since 2010.

Researching California Mission Indians Using a Case Study

Leave a Reply